DIY Laundry Soap

Homemade laundry detergent was always something that was in the back of my mind to learn how to do. Afterall, commercial products contained things like optical brighteners and a ‘laundry list’ of chemicals that I didn’t want near my body or polluting the environment. But I had thought it would be something that would be very labor intensive, time consuming, expensive and not at all something that I could pull off while working full time and going to school.

I was completely wrong on all fronts.

Homemade laundry detergent is about as easy as it gets. I have been following a recipe like the one listed here and using Dr. Bronner’s soap as the bar soap and adding in tea tree oil.

I have also ditched the fabric softener in favor of white vinegar. You just add it as you would a liquid softener into the rinse cycle. I leaves your clothes soft and clean smelling – with no vinegary reside either.

Since January, I have made two batches of this soap. The inital startup cost to purchase all the materals was $11 and I can make at least 4 more batches with the supplies I bought. $11 for a year of laundry soap that is not harmful is lovely, I think.

This entry was posted in Frugalcraft, Greencraft, Homecraft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment